Wednesday, November 5, 2014

THE SPIRIT HEIR BY KAITLYN DAVIS - REVIEW TOUR



The Spirit Heir (A Dance of Dragons #2)
 By:  Kaitlyn Davis

Description:

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the second book in the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series--perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones!

Drenched in darkness and surrounded by the echo of screams, Jinji waits deep in the dungeons of Rayfort, haunted by the memory of the knife stabbing Rhen, plagued by a foreign voice whispering through her mind. A few floors above, Rhen rests trapped in a coma, about to wake to a changed world—a world where his best friend is a woman, his nephew is the king, and an enemy army surrounds him on all sides.

But human wars are insignificant compared to the darkness gathering unseen. Memories of lives she never lived flash through Jinji's thoughts, hinting at a past that cannot be repeated. A mysterious phantom visits Rhen, carrying cryptic messages of the future. And somewhere out there, the shadow continues to lurk in silence.

Uncertain of their relationship and tempted by new feelings, Rhen and Jinji must find a way to work together. The fate of humanity rests on their shoulders and the real battle has only just begun…


MY REVIEW / THOUGHTS:

This series just keeps getting better.  When this book came up for review I jumped at it.  I loved the first book, and the second book was even better.  

Rhen has been stabbed and lies in a coma.  Jinji lies in the dungeons of Rhen's kingdom.  The world has changed.  Rhen wakes up to the knowledge that his best friend Jin is actually a woman.  He cannot separate the friend from the woman.  Rhen demands to know where she is and finds her in the dungeons.  Letting his King know that he owes Jinji his life, and that he needs to put her under the protection of the crown.

Rhen realizes that there is more to Jinji.  He trusts her with his life.  There begins to be more between the two of them and it is FABULOUS.  It is so fantastic to see a romance bud from friendship.  He trust Jinji implicitly and Jinji trust Rhen in return.  It was so much fun to watch their relationship.  I hate insta love.  This book brought two people together in the best way possible.  It was awesome.

Rhen and Jinji are plagued by mists, and voices in their heads.  Following this mist, and this voice may be what saves Rhens kingdom.  

Rhen is finally at peace with the power he yields.  Rhen and Jinji are finally at peace with their relationship.  Rhen knows he cannot live without her and Jinji knows the same.

Searching for some peace and answers in the storms that are passing, they come to a castle that is hidden.  Standing in the seas with answers that may help to save Rhens kingdom.

I love this story.  This book kept me on the edge of my seat from the beginning until the end.  UGH, the end.  Waiting for the next one in this book is going to drive me cray.   I must know what happens now.  So much happens at the very end of this book, that when it came to an end, I had that UGH scream release from my lips...hehe.  

The author did such a great job putting me in this book.  Sometimes I gloss over the world building and description because it gets too wordy for me.  NOT in this one.  I had to follow every single word to make sure I could soak up as much of this story as I could.

Jinji and Rhen are such fantastic characters.  I cannot wait to see where their story takes me in book three!  I cannot wait, but I must :(.  

Source:  I was given this book by the author in return for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any way for this review.  These are my own PERSONAL thoughts on the book.


MY RATING:



BUY LINKS:





a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Shadow Soul (A Dance of Dragons #1)
 By:  Kaitlyn Davis

Book One is Now Free!

DESCRIPTION:
(my review here)

GAME OF THRONES meets GRACELING in a new young adult fantasy by bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis. Told in alternating male and female perspectives, THE SHADOW SOUL has been hailed as "an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more." (Happy Tails & Tales Reviews)

When Jinji's home is destroyed, she is left with nowhere to run and no one to run to—until she meets Rhen, a prince chasing rumors that foreign enemies have landed on his shores. Masquerading as a boy, Jinji joins Rhen with vengeance in her heart. But traveling together doesn't mean trusting one another, and both are keeping a deep secret—magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Rhen can pull burning flames into his flesh.

But while they struggle to hide the truth, a shadow lurks in the night. An ancient evil has reawakened, and unbeknownst to them, these two unlikely companions hold the key to its defeat. Because their meeting was not coincidence—it was fate. And their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time, an age of myth that is about to be reborn…


BUY LINKS:






ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy. 

Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She's been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.

To stay up-to-date with all of Kaitlyn's new releases, sign up for her publication day newsletter here: TinyLetter.com/KaitlynDavisBooks



AUTHOR LINKS:



Twitter: @DavisKaitlyn